Anambra State

Anambra is a state in southeastern Nigeria. Its name is an anglicized version of the original ‘Oma Mbala’, the native name of the Anambra River. The capital and seat of government is Awka. Onitsha,Nnewi and Ekwulobia are the biggest commercial and industrial cities, respectively.

The state’s theme is “Light Of The Nation”.

Anambra possesses a history that stretches back to the 9th century AD, as revealed by archaeological excavations at Igbo-Ukwu and Ezira; Great works of art in iron, bronze, copper, and pottery works belonging to the ancient Kingdom of Nri, revealed a sophisticated divine Kingship administrative system which held sway in the area of Anambra from c. 948 AD to 1911.

During the Nigerian/Biafran war, a relief airstrip, was constructed by Biafran engineers in the town of Uli/Amorka (code named “Annabelle”). Extremely dangerous relief flights took off from Sao Tome and other sites loaded with tons of food and medicine for the distressed Biafran population. Uli/Amorka airstrip was the site where brave American pilots like Alex Nicoll, and scores of others, made the supreme sacrifice in the service of humanity, delivering tons of relief supplies to the Biafran population. Disgusted by the suffering and mounting death toll in Biafra from starvation as well as the continuous harassment of the relief planes by the Nigerian Airforce, Carl Gustaf von Rosen resigned as a Red Cross relief pilot and helped Biafra to form an Airforce of five Minicoin planes Malmö MFI-9stationed at the Uga airstrip. He named his tiny but effective airforce “Babies of Biafra” in honour of the babies who died via starvation inside Biafra.

Old Anambra State was created in 1976 from part of East Central State, and its capital was Enugu. A further re-organisation in 1991 divided Anambra into two states, Anambra and Enugu. The capital of Anambra is Awka.

Anambra is rich in natural gas, crude oil, bauxite, and ceramic. It has an almost 100 percent arable soil. Anambra state has many other resources in terms of agro-based activities such as fisheries and farming, as well as land cultivated for pasturing and animal husbandry. It has the lowest poverty rate in Nigeria.

             LGA                                    Head-Quarter

  1. Aguata                                     Aguata
  2. Anambra East                          Otuocha         
  3. Anambra West                        Nzam  
  4. Anaocha                                  Neni    
  5. Anyamelum                             Anaku
  6. Awka North                             Achalla
  7. Awka South                             Awka  
  8. Demili North                           Ogidi  
  9. Dunukofia                                Ukpo   
  10. Ekwusigo                                 Ozubulu          
  11. Idemili South                           Ojoto
  12. Ihiala                                       Ihiala  
  13. Njikoka                                    Abagana         
  14. Nnewi North                            Nnewi 
  15. Nnewi South                            Ukpor 
  16. Ogbaru                                    Atani   
  17. Onitsha North                         Fegge 
  18. Onitsha South                          Onitsha           
  19. Orumba North                         Ajali    
  20. Orumba South                         Umunze          
  21. Oyi                                           Nteje  
  • Lead/zinc 
  • Clay
  • Limestone 
  • Iron-ore 
  • Lignite 
  • Salt
  • B Glass-sand 
  • Phosphate 
  • Gypsum

Business Investment Opportunities in Anambra

  • Crude oil Business
  • Ceramic Business
  • Boutique Business
  • Motor Spare Parts
  • Tools fabrication Business
  • Interstate or Intracity transport Business
  • Frozen Foods Business
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
  • Legacy University
  • Madonna University
  • Paul University, Awka
  • Tansian University
  • Pope John Major Seminary
  • Federal Polytechnic, Oko
  • Anambra State College of Agriculture,
  • Anambra State College of Health Technology
  • School of Health Information Management
  • Buckingham Academy of Management and Technology
  • UA College of Science and Technology, Osuofia
  • Onit Institute of Technology
  • Federal College of Education (Technical), Umunze
  • Nwafor Orizu College of Education, Nsugbe
  • ONIT College of Education
  • Town hall at Ifite Anam (MMIATA)
  • Anambra West: New Police Station At Innoma
  • Anambra State: New Health Center At Iviora
  • Onitsha Museum Foundation
  • Orumba General Hospital